I was the recipient today of what turns out to be at least an 18-month old phishing scam. Somehow they got my corporate email and phone number, but a completely mangled US Mail address.
cio-summit.net, upon clicking, forwards to http://64.41.119.180/ciosummit/. Yeah, I'm forking over $1000 to a _THAT_ URL.
Google only showed me one other site referencing this issue, but it documents over a year's worth of people encountering the scam: otherlibrarian: cio-summit.net
So head's up, fellow geeks.
Email:
Andrew,
Did you get the email I sent you last? Just in case it didn't get to you I've copied it below for your review. If you get a chance please let me know of your interest.
Thanks,
Chris
-----Original Message-----
To: Andrew Badera
From Name: Chris Jameson
Subject: Andrew, question.
Hi Andrew. On behalf of our board, I wanted to personally invite you into the CIO Summit because of your key role and experience.
The CIO Summit is an invitation-only group comprised of the very best executives and visionaries in technology management. We meet monthly by teleconference to exchange what is working, what is not, strategies and ideas. It is a confidential forum with dedicated groups of other successful IT executives whose only agenda is to help each other outperform.
I am certain you will find the experience both enjoyable and useful in your efforts. Here is our site as background, www.CIO-Summit.net, if you could take a look and please let me know of your decision. Thanks, Andrew.
Sincerely,
Chris Jameson
The CIO Summit
1200 Abernathy Road
17th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30328
404-592-9904 Ext. 81
Mail back to decline further.
Chris@CIO-Summit.net
www.CIO-Summit.net
For my records in case any follow-up is needed, I show your contact information as: Andrew Badera, Davis Vision, ###########@davisvision.com, 159 Express St, Latham, MA, 11803 518-###-####
Monday, January 14
"CIO-Summit" phishing scam
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)







23 comments:
I got that form letter. For reasons I'll never know, it just felt wrong. They now offer SSL submission of credit card info and a 30 day money back guarantee. Not for me.
Good post, btw. Thanks.
Thansk for stopping by. I can't believe this crap is still kicking around ... yet plenty of people have never seen it before. Nothing like the scale of the Internet ... Somehow it doesn't surprise me that they've moved to SSL, that, and the IP-name, no-domain, where the final straws for this camel.
I just received the email myself today. I never trust any strange emails so I googled the "The-CIOSummit.net" and found this site. Thank you for confirming my suspicions.
Happy to help Tom!
I did the same thing that Tom did. I always verify form emails with a quick Google Search. Glad that it popped this site up.
And now someone allegedly affiliated with CIO summit is trying to threaten me with a lawsuit:
http://blog.badera.us/2010/04/oldie-but-goodie-narcissistic-ceo-bully.html
alert, this has shifted from CIO-Summit to COO-Summit. Just received an invite in my corporate email from a Matthew Keener.
Still going strong, I get them frequently. It is now the-ciosummit.net.
Hi Dennis. On behalf of our Board, I wanted to personally invite you into The CIO Summit because of your key role and experience.
The CIO Summit is an invitation-only group comprised of the very best executives and visionaries in the technology field. We meet monthly by teleconference to exchange what is working, what is not, strategies and ideas. It is a confidential forum with dedicated groups of other successful technology executives whose only agenda is to help each other outperform. Our meeting schedule is at www.the-ciosummit.net
I am certain you will find the experience both enjoyable and useful in your efforts. Please take a look and let me know of your decision or relay if you think another is more appropriate. Thanks Dennis.
Sincerely,
Jason Williams
CIO Summits
The Organization of IT Directors
www.the-ciosummit.net
As JByrd said it's still going strong. Receiveing mine this morning.
Thanks for your site and the heads up!
Thank you for posting this!
Happy to help Scott, thanks for stopping by!
April 7, 2011
I am outraged that it has taken this long for the scammers to invite me. Were there really that many candidates better suited than I for this scam? The invitation notes an interest in my "key role and experience" but their slowness in extending an invitation indicates a lack of sincerity. Scammers, next time invite me early if you want to get my attention :)
hahaha quite excellent :)
I received 3 that are for a CMO summit. Don't fall for it. www.cmo-summit.org F*ck them.
Right on Marty!
I received the same email scam recently from the "coosumit.net". I replied to his email and copied scams@fraudwatchinternational.com. I don't know if it helps or not. I also sent a nice note encouraging him to use his God given talents to better himself & the economy rather than steal from people. Who knows, maybe that'll get atleast one of them thinking.
It seems this has now transitioned to include a new URL: theoperationssummit.org. For reference, the two notes I received appear below:
On 5/12/11 6:04 AM, "Matthew Keener" wrote:
Hi Erik, I was just checking back to see if you had reached a decision
per my original email below. We have a couple of openings and I thought
you would enjoy the group. Some of the other members include:
Best Buy, Steve Delp, VP/COO.
Pier 1 Imports, Sharon Leite, EVP Store Operations.
Ernst & Young LLP, Kristin Valente, Partner.
Netflix, Andrew Rendich, VP Operations.
IHOP, Rand Ferris, VP Franchise Operations.
And also a number of smaller companies where we thought the COO had a lot
of creativity and ideas to share.
Can you look at the www.theoperationssummit.org meeting schedule and get
back to me or relay if you think another is more appropriate? The others
would really enjoy your participation.
Sincerely,
Matthew Keener
The COO Summits
----- Original Message -----
From: Matthew Keener
Subject: Erik, let me know if you can participate.
Hi Erik. On behalf of our Board, I wanted to personally invite you into
The COO/Operations Summits because of your key role and experience.
The COO/Operations Summits is an invitation-only group comprised of the
very best executives and visionaries in operations. We meet monthly by
teleconference to exchange what is working, what is not, strategies and
ideas. It is a confidential forum with dedicated groups of other
successful operations executives whose only agenda is to help each other
outperform.
Our meeting schedule is at: www.theoperationssummit.org
I am certain you will find the experience both enjoyable and useful in
your efforts. Please take a look and let me know of your decision or
relay if you think another is more appropriate. Thanks Erik.
Sincerely,
Matthew Keener
The COO Summits
The Organization of Operations Directors
www.theoperationssummit.org
It's crazy these dirtbags are still up to these shenanigans, 2.5+ years later.
Please report them to their ISPs, things will be done if there is enough complaints:
abuse@peak10.com
abuse@bocacom.net
abuse@godaddy.com
Sending source: mail.the-cmosummit.net (72.35.72.51)
I just got one of these to a domain where all email addresses go to me. It was addressed to "Sarah Palin". I had to look behind me to make sure she wasn't there!
Wow, that'd be a heluva way to end your week!
I ignored/deleted the email (work email) the first time and now today I have a follow up email asking to respond. The guise of COOSUMMIT...Really?! Seriously, my position in our company is not a key position by any means. That was enough in the first place to make me delete it, but this follow up email really bugs the crap out of me.
I agree with rleathers from April 7, 2011...if I'm so important, why did it take them this long to find me. =)
Thank you Ram on May 16, 2011...I've forwarded the crap to those email addresses with my complaint about the spam.
www.cfosummit.org looks to be the same thing.
Post a Comment